Smaller Hearts embrace electronic shoegaze on debut LP

posted by Smaller Hearts on Monday April 16

Overflowing with washy electronic rhythms and bouncy earworm hooks, Smaller Heartsrelease their debut, self-titled album on Friday, May 18. The power-pop infused lead single, "Summertime III," premieres today via Secret East. Click HERE to listen.


"'Summertime III' is a hovercraft of hook-laden new wave sentiment. It feels like an afternoon upswing to a gloomy morning; a much-needed pick-me-up after heavy contemplation. Thoughtful, focused, and excellently executed. Smaller Hearts’ debut adheres closely with a slow Atlantic spring thaw-out as it melts away layered compositions of petulant pop." - Secret East


Born of their previous work under the moniker Homo Duplex, husband and wife duo Kristina Parlee (The Maynards/The Reference Desk) and Ron Bates (Orange Glass/The Memories Attack) bring a reformed focus to Smaller Hearts. 


Taking their love of electronic pop bands such as Pet Shop Boys and Depeche Mode, and scrambling it with their wilder, noisier inclinations such as Stereolab and My Bloody Valentine, the duo emerges with a head-spinning LP that is underpinned by bass-heavy synths, hazy soundscapes, and airy Postal Service-esque vocals.   


While wearing a penchant for weird sounds on their sleeve, Smaller Hearts presents a sleek and sophisticated blend of wistful harmonies, stark minimalism, driving beats, Japanese field recordings, and melancholic motifs.     

Smaller Hearts was mastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service.




Smaller Hearts

Available Friday, May 18, 2018
Independent -- 

01. Summertime III

02. Lost Words

03. Crossing

04. Maisie

05. The Ups and Downs of
      Forgetting Everything

06. Chipper

07. Hibernation

08. Summertime IV

09. U10G
10. Climbing
11. The Year We Spent Awake

Advance copies are available. Please get in touch!



Learn more about Smaller Hearts:



Media Contact: 

Trevor Murphy - Pigeon Row

(902) 880-2606 (c) | 902 431 5334 (w)