Nova Scotia Music Week Returning to Truro 2017, 2018, 2019

Festival and Conference Celebrates 20 Years in 2017

Early advance delegate passes and festival wristbands go on sale Friday, March 31 at 10:00 AM. 

(March 29, 2017 Halifax, NS) The Truro/Colchester region will be the home of Nova Scotia Music Week for the next three years. The annual music festival and conference has typically moved around the province each year but after two very successful editions of the event held in Truro in 2014 and 2016, Music Nova Scotia has reached a deal with the local host committee to keep the event in the Truro area for an extended stay.

“Truro has been very successful for us”, according to Scott Long, executive director of Music Nova Scotia. “The central location, close proximity to the airport and venue infrastructure compliment the incredibly supportive residents and music fans in the Truro area. Hosting the event in Truro for the next three years allows us to concentrate on the next phase of strategic growth for the festival.”

This year also marks the 20th anniversary of the event. The dates for NSMW 2017, 2018 and 2019 are as follows:

NSMW 2017 - November 2-5
NSMW 2018 - November 1-4
NSMW 2019 - November 7-10

More announcements on venues, events and programming will be made in the coming weeks.

Music Nova Scotia estimates the music festival will attract over 8,000 local and visiting music fans and result in over $2 million in economic spin offs for the province with an approximate $1.5 million direct benefit to the host community. 

Early advance delegate passes and festival wristbands go on sale Friday, March 31 at 10:00 AM. 

For more information and to purchase tickets please visit

For more information and media requests contact:

Scott Long
Executive Director
Music Nova Scotia
902-423-6271 Ext. 101

Back Home: A Music Nova Scotia Podcast - Episode 16

On this episode Dana talks to Charlie A’Court about his new scholarship opportunity and welcomes Post Script into the Village Sound Studio Basement! Also featured are songs from Kirsten Olivia, Hillsburn, The Stanfields, Quake Matthews, and TJ King.


If you like what you’re hearing and want to support Back Home, you can over at our Patreon page by pledging to Patreon you get the chance to win free tickets and passes to concerts and free merch from some of the great Nova Scotia acts we feature.

We’re always looking to feature new and old NOVA SCOTIAN music and musicians. If you want to submit your own music to the podcast you CAN at this link: attach a song file to the bottom of the form!

Make sure you’re following us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram @BackHomeMNS
And check out our Patreon page
And on Youtube

Back Home: A Music Nova Scotia Podcast is now also available through an app for both iOS and Android. Download your copy today: 

Charlie A’Court - @charlieacourt
Post Script - @postscript902
Kirsten Olivia - @kirstenolivia
Hillsburn - @hillsburnband
The Stanfields - @TheStanfields
Quake Matthews - @quakematthews
Reeny Smith - @iamreeny
TJ King - @tjkingmusic
Tallin Music Week - @TlnMusicWeek


April 1 - Mary Beth Carty - The Anchor (CD Release Party)
April 7 - Mo Kenney - The Union Street
April 8 - Sleep Shaker, Bury Me At Sea, Chamber and Rosewood Annie - Pro Skates
April 10 - Andrew Mackelvie - 1313 Hollis St.
April 13 - Port Cities - Casino Nova Scotia (Album Release) 
April 14 - Dub Kartel - The Marquee 
April 14 - Carry The Lost, Old Blood and Hatchett Lake - New Glasgow
April 14 - Adam Baldwin - The Union Street
April 14 - Century Egg, Fake Buildings, and Rabies! - The Seahorse
April 20 - Bill & Joel Plaskett - The Rebecca Cohn
April 20 - Mauno, Jon McKiel and Heat - The Seahorse 
April 21 - Erin Costelo - The Union Street CMW 

April 20 - 22 with the MNS Tiki Stage at the Rivoli in Toronto, with Hello Delaware, The Town Heros, Owen Meany’s Batting Stance, and more. ECMA’s are in Saint John 

April 25 - 30. We’re excited to be represented by all our MNS members and artists during the week!  Check us out on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook (@backhomemns). 

We’re running an online contest to win tickets to see Joel and Bill Plaskett April 20 at the Rebecca Cohn put on by Sonic Concerts. Post a photo of “Where you listen” to instagram with the hashtag BackHomeMNS! We’ll draw for a pair of tickets to the show, Tuesday April 18. 

Summer Gig Opportunity

(February 28, 2017, Halifax, NS) Are you a Celtic, Acadian, Folk, or Traditional act looking for a summer gig?  Bay Ferries is in search of a solo or duo act to set sail on The CAT throughout the summer season. With numerous dates from June to September, playing on board the ferry between Nova Scotia and Maine could be your summer job. 

To be eligible for this gig you must be a solo or duo act, who performs either Celtic, Acadian, Folk, or Traditional music. Bay Ferries is offering the chosen act $300 a day (solo or duo and includes HST), plus $20 in CAT Cash (for food onboard The CAT) per person (max of $40). Accommodations may also be arranged based upon the agreement. 

The gig requires the chosen act to be available for most of the following dates:

  • June - 10,17,24, 30
  • July - 1,7,8,14,15,21,22,28,29
  • August - 4,5,11,12,18,19,25,26
  • September - 1,2,9,16,23,30

To apply please click HERE


Musicians must register their instruments with Canadian Border Services Agency prior to beginning work on The CAT (one time). A work permit for the USA is not required as you will be performing on international waters. However, Musicians must register their instruments with Canadian Border Services Agency prior to beginning work on The CAT (one time). Musicians must have a valid Canadian passport and must clear Customs Border Patrol each crossing.


Applications must be submitted no later than Monday, March 20th, 2017 at 5:00pm.



For more information please contact:

Blaise Theriault

Events and Marketing Manager

Music Nova Scotia

(902) 423-6271 ext. 103


Subscribe to MNS News