Music Nova Scotia Annual General Meeting 2018 Board of Directors Election Results

All seven (7) incumbents re-offered and four (4) additional nominations competed for seven (7) seats with terms ending in 2020.
The following individuals have been elected to the Music Nova Scotia Board of Directors:
Aaron Green
Amie Moore
Jamie Robinson
Jason Michael MacIsaac
Krista Keough
Marc Perry
Melanie Stone

They will join the existing board members Brian Doherty, Darryl Smith, Doug Taylor, Ian McKinnon, Jason Bruce, Josh Hogan, Mike Campbell, Stephen MacDougall and Troy Arsenault.

The executive positions elected for the 2018-2019 year are as follows:

President – Brian Doherty
First Vice President – Ian McKinnon
Second Vice President – Mike Campbell
Third Vice President – Doug Taylor
Secretary – Melanie Stone
Treasurer – Jamie Robinson

Music Nova Scotia would like to express our most sincere gratitude to our outgoing board member Gail Ferguson for her dedication and volunteer service to the association.
Music Nova Scotia would like to welcome our new incoming board member Aaron Green.
The full Annual General Meeting report can be viewed online.

Voting Now Open for Music Nova Scotia Board of Directors 2018

Eleven nominees, including seven incumbents, are vying for seven spots on the Music Nova Scotia Board of Directors – and we need you to vote!

All Music Nova Scotia members are encouraged to vote online for the Board of Directors, who will act as guidance for all Music Nova Scotia activities. 

The election will be conducted electronically through the Music Nova Scotia website from June 5th at 10:00AM through June 25th, 2018 at 5:00PM.

Your membership must be up to date to login to your profile.  ****If you have never accessed your profile, please register the email address associated with your membership with the website HERE.  

Corporate and Non-Profit members receive two votes. Individual, band, small business, and venue memberships receive one vote, student memberships do not receive a vote.

Please Note:  Anyone with permitted access to your profile has access to vote, please discuss with your team/band members who will vote. Once a vote has been cast it can not be reset.

There are no additional voting logins or passwords required, please follow the steps below to vote:

1.  Login to your profile on the Music Nova Scotia website (If you do not remember your password, please select the "Request New Password" link under the login box, we do not have access to your password).

2.  Scroll down to "My Projects" on the left hand side of the screen

3.  Select the "VOTE" button located in the my projects box, this will take you to the voting screen.  

4.  Once you have selected your votes click submit and you're done!

*** You must vote for 7 of the 11 candidates for your vote to be eligible ***

All voting for board positions will take place online.  No voting will take place at the AGM.

All members in good standing are eligible to vote with the exception of honorary and student memberships. To renew or become a member of Music Nova Scotia, please contact Lisa Stitt at 902-423-0291.

Candidates: (in alphabetical order) – Full bios and photos can be found HERE.

Aaron Green 
Amie Moore 
Erin McDonald
Gail Ferguson 
James Bennett
Jamie Robinson
Jason Michael MacIsaac
Krista Keough 
Marc Perry 
Meghan Scott
Melanie Stone

All members are welcome to attend the 2018 Annual General Meeting, where the results of the election will be announced.

AGM Date: Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Time: 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM
Location: 2169 Gottingen St.
Halifax, NS  B3K 3B5

AGM Agenda Considerations:

Minutes of preceding general meeting;
Consideration of the annual report of the Directors;
Consideration of the financial statements, including balance sheet and operating statement and the report of the auditors therein;
Election of Directors for the ensuing year;
Appointment of Auditors.

Casino Nova Scotia Artist in Residence Program Announces 2018 Finalists

After interviews, examinations, and deliberation, Casino Nova Scotia is proud and delighted to announce the five finalists for the 2018 Artist in Residence program. Jurors made the selection last week after careful consideration, the final candidates will move onto the performance round of the selection process, June 15th, at the Schooner Showroom, Casino Nova Scotia. 

Finalists are (in alphabetical order):

  • Elijah Will - Enfield, Nova Scotia - R&B/Pop

  • Jah’Mila - Halifax, Nova Scotia - Reggae Soul /Jazz/Roots Reggae

  • Jodi Guthro - Halifax, Nova Scotia - R&B/Pop

  • Owen Meany’s Batting Stance - Halifax, Nova Scotia - Folk

  • T.Thomason - Halifax, Nova Scotia - Singer-Songwriter 

“We’re thrilled about this line-up” states Chris Roberts, Executive Director of Casino Nova Scotia. “We received very strong applications from a wide range of musical genres, highlighting the diverse talent here in Nova Scotia. Narrowing down the applicants was a difficult task, we were endlessly impressed by the determination and skill of all the artists. We encourage everyone to come and see this amazing talent live at the June 15th performance and show their support for the incredible five final contestants”

The contest will culminate with a live performance that will help judges make their final assessment. The performance will feature all five finalists, as well as the current Casino Nova Scotia artist in residence Devarrow.  Music Nova Scotia Executive Director, Scott Long reported that the jury includes: Ashlea Barr - Business Development Manager - Casino Nova Scotia, Jason Bruce (J-Bru) - Artist, Louis Thomas - Sonic Entertainment Group, and Sheri Jones - Jones & Co. Artist Management.

The Casino Nova Scotia Artist in Residence program will provide the selected musician or group with $20,000 in funding to assist with developing their career through recording, marketing, and live performance opportunities.  Music Nova Scotia is working with Casino Nova Scotia to administer the program.

Music lovers and fans will have their chance to vote from May 28 – June 14th, at 5pm, which counts towards the selection of the finalist.  Go to to vote.

The public is welcome to see the final five perform, and the current Casino Nova Scotia artist in residence Devarrow on Friday, June 15 at Casino Nova Scotia. Free admission. Must be nineteen years of age or older. 

Finalists Showcase:

Friday, June 15 at 8pm

Schooner Showroom, Casino Nova Scotia

Free admission. Must be 19+


For more information on Casino Nova Scotia’s Artist in Residence Program go to: or


Subscribe to MNS News