Nova Scotia Music Week 2017 Artist Announcement #1

For more information on Nova Scotia Music Week 2017 (#NSMW2017) and the showcasing performers visit


For media inquiries please contact:
Scott Long
Executive Director
Music Nova Scotia 
(902) 423-6271 ext. 101

For festival inquires please contact:
Blaise Theriault
Events and Marketing Manager
Music Nova Scotia
(902) 423-6271 ext. 103

Music Nova Scotia Award Nominations Now Open

Deadline: July 21, 2017, 5:00 p.m. ADT.
Music Nova Scotia is now accepting applications for music and industry award nominations for the 2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards until Friday, July 21st at 5:00 p.m. ADT. No extensions will be given so all applications must be in on time. To submit an application for an award nomination for any category, please visit:

Please click the following link to read the 2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards Manual and ensure your submission(s) fulfill the criteria required for your nominee. The cost to submit is $30, HST included. Submissions can be paid online through PayPal. If you do not have Paypal you can also pay by debit or cash in the Music Nova Scotia office (at 2169 Gottingen Street), or by Visa or MasterCard over the phone by contacting our Festival Coordinator Dave Sampson (902) 423-6271 Ext 109.
Music Nova Scotia may present awards in fifty (50) categories.

Music Awards (29 categories)
All Nova Scotian artists who are members in good standing and have released recordings between January 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017 are eligible to submit for the 2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards. There are nine (9) categories that do not require a recording: Acadian/Francophone Artist of the Year, African Nova Scotian Artist of the Year, Children’s Artist of the Year, DJ of the Year, Electronic Artist of the Year,  Entertainer of the Year, Indigenous Artist of the Year, Musician of the Year & Digital Artist of the Year. You are not eligible to be nominated for the same recording two years in a row.

Please note: Children’s Recording of the Year has been changed and is now Children’s Artist of the Year. This award no longer requires a recording.
Industry Awards (21 categories)
The Music Nova Scotia Industry Awards recognize the achievements and contributions of our industry professionals and leaders from across Nova Scotia over the past year. These awards celebrate the people and companies who are working to build a strong and vibrant Nova Scotia music industry. All Music Nova Scotia members in good standing are eligible to submit.
The final Music and Industry nominees will be decided upon by a peer jury of esteemed local professionals with expertise in the music industry of Nova Scotia. Music Nova Scotia staff are not members of this jury, and do not contribute to the selection of the final ballot for nominees.


Nominees who are members of Music Nova Scotia will receive a complimentary delegate pass to Nova Scotia Music Week 2017 (NSMW), which offers access to all showcases (subject to capacity), the conference and the Late Night Stage, as well as the special NSMW delegate rate from our hotel partners (see for details).  

The nominees in each category will be announced on September 6, 2017. Voting for all awards will also open on this date. Only current members are eligible to nominate and vote. Update your Music Nova Scotia membership now -
Winners will be announced at Nova Scotia Music Week in Truro, NS, November 2-5, 2017.
For more information on NSMW, please visit


For any other submission enquiries, please contact:
Blaise Theriault
Events & Marketing Manager
Music Nova Scotia
(902) 423-4153

Music Nova Scotia Annual General Meeting Board of Directors Election Results and Music Nova Scotia Annual Report

The 2017 election for Music Nova Scotia’s Board of Directors resulted in ten candidates competing for eight seats to be filled. Eight of eight incumbents re-offered and two additional nominations competed for eight seats with terms ending in 2019. 

The board members elected this year are:

Brian Doherty
Darryl Smith
Doug Taylor
Ian McKinnon
Josh Hogan
Michael S. Campbell
Stephen MacDougall
Troy Arseneault

They will join the existing board members:

Amie Moore
Gail Ferguson
Jamie Robinson
Jason Michael MacIsaac
Krista Keough
Marc Perry
Melanie Stone

The board members were officially sworn in at the Annual General Meeting, held at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at 2169 Gottingen St.

The executive positions elected for the 2017-2018 year are as follows:

President – Brian Doherty
First Vice President – Ian McKinnon
Second Vice President – Amie Moore
Third Vice President – Gail Ferguson
Secretary – Melanie Stone
Treasurer – Jamie Robinson
Music Nova Scotia would like to express our most sincere gratitude to our outgoing board member Heather Frantsi for her dedication and valuable service to the Association. Music Nova Scotia would like to welcome our new incoming board member Darryl Smith.

The full Annual General Meeting report can be viewed online.


For more information please contact:
Lisa Stitt
Member Relations / Operations Manager


Subscribe to MNS News