From Etta To Brandy: 12 Undervalued Black Women Of Rock

From Ravishly:

Since the '60s at least, rock has been seen mostly as music for and by disaffected, angry white guys—shaggy haircuts and British accent optional. It's all about testosterone swagger and raging against the machine by miming the styles of marginalized racial groups—which presupposes that you're not actually a member of those marginalized racial groups yourself.

Thus Rolling Stone, that old-school rock mouthpiece, has only one album by a black man in its top 10 greatest albums of all time, and none by black women (in fact, the first black woman to register a mention is Aretha Franklin, way down at number 83). Other similar lists often have no one except white guys in their upper echelons, either.

Click here to read the full article.

Watching In Real-Time as Fans Fall In Love With Records

Midem is happening this June in Cannes, France and to warm-up, the organization is posting interviews with some of the most interesting and creative industry professionals about what the business of music looks like in 2015 and beyond. This is an excerpt from an interview with Jazz Atkin, Mom+Pop's digital marketing manager.

"Across the board, personalised experiences like these are going to be a huge priority this year. Internet users understand the trade-off they make for free services, and as they become more willing to exchange personal information, there also grows an expectancy to see that information used to better their experience. With so much data at our disposal, it’s now our responsibility to personalise our messaging, (re)target our advertising, and better understand our audience."

Read the full article.

Every Drummer Confident Someone Else Will Bring Kit Tonight

From The Hard Times:

EDMONTON, ALBERTA – Every drummer is completely certain that someone else will be providing a drum kit for tonight’s basement show headlined by local favorite Grisly Dismemberment. Despite a complete lack of communication on the matter of the drum kit between him or any of the four drummers scheduled to play tonight, promoter of the show, Shawn Ruthless, confirmed, “It will get figured out.”

Click here for the full article.

Viola Desmond contest winners: MAJE, "Head Held High" feat. Samm Splash & Ashley Burke, prod. Jordan Metro

photo L-R: El Jones, MAJE, Jordan Metro, Lindell "LinPro" Smith

Office closure - Nova Scotia Heritage Day

The Music Nova Scotia office will be closed on Monday, February 16th for Nova Scotia Heritage Day.

Apply for multiple showcases at once!

February 5, 2015 | Want to showcase or pitch at Contact East? We invite tour ready artists in dance, music and theatre to apply via I Want To Showcase, a multi-conference application system. Applications open Tuesday, February 17th and close Monday, March 30th, 12:00PM AST.

The flagship event of the Atlantic Presenters Association, Contact East brings together the very best of North American talent in theatre, music, and dance, to showcase their work for regional, national and international presenter delegates. This year's 40th anniversary conference will take place September 17th–20th, 2015 in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.

Contact East is a meeting place for artists and presenters to facilitate numerous and diverse performing arts activities in Canada and on international stages. It involves formal showcase events, primarily music, dance and theatre; the Contact Room where artists, agents and presenters can interact to discuss availability, venues and other performing arts issues; and a variety of workshops, clinics and round table discussions, which are relevant to the industry's affairs.

We are excited to showcase artists on the stage of APA network member Confederation Centre of the Arts. Alumni artists of the event have gone on to great touring success, including Natalie MacMaster, Matt Andersen and David Myles.

Contact Jennifer Gillis ( for more information.



Morning office closure

The office will open at noon today due to unsafe road conditions. 

Take it to the Tiki Winners: Like A Motorcycle

19 Brian Eno Quotes for Studio Inspiration

"I started coming to the studio with less worked-out pieces, and eventually with nothing at all. I would just start working with that thing, “the studio,” as the instrument.

There is nothing outside of this process. This process called recording is the creative process. We don’t have the canvas standing in front of any landscape, you are going to make the landscape here and now."


Click here to read the full article.

Top Three Finalists Announced for Viola Desmond Singer/Songwriting Contest

(Halifax, NS) In 1946 Viola Desmond was jailed over one cent of sales tax for defying racist policies. In 2015, Nova Scotian singer/songwriters are paying tribute to her life, struggle and courage through song. Presented by the Nova Scotia Department of Communities, Culture and Heritage in partnership with Music Nova Scotia, the Viola Desmond Singer/Songwriter Contest creates a heightened sense of awareness for Viola Desmond and her contributions to social justice in Canada and serves to promote Nova Scotia’s Heritage Day holiday. The inaugural holiday will honour Viola Desmond on February 16, 2015.

The submission assessment panel, comprised of a diverse cross-section of creative industries professionals from Nova Scotia, has determined the top 3 finalists out of the sizable 187 contest entries. The panel includes well known Aboriginal artist and musician Alan Syliboy, musician, composer and producer Asif Illyas, African Nova Scotian Music Association President Lou Gannon, actress, director and writer Juanita Peters and singer/songwriter and TV producer Ron Bourgeois.

The top 3 finalists are:

●      MAJE  - Head Held High (Songwriters:  Michael Earle, Ashley Burke, Samm Splash)

●      Erin Costelo and Cyndi Cain  - Carry On (Songwriters:  Erin Costelo, Cyndi Cain)

●      The Town Heroes and Neon Dreams – The Good Fight (Songwriters: Mike Ryan, Jahmal Wellington, Corey LeRue, Adrian Morris, Matthew Sampson, Bruce Gillis)

“When we launched the songwriting contest, we hoped musicians would want to create a lasting tribute to Viola Desmond’s legacy,” said Communities, Culture and Heritage Minister Tony Ince.  “We are very pleased with the number of talented artists who contributed. Clearly, Nova Scotians want to celebrate and remember Viola Desmond, and the important role she played in Nova Scotia’s heritage.”

The finalists will perform on Friday, February 13th at Casino Nova Scotia’s Harbourfront Lounge at 9:00pm to determine the winner of the $10,000 first prize.  The second and third runner up will receive $2000 and $1000 respectively.  The celebration will also feature performances from the Nova Scotia Mass Choir along with other artists soon to be announced.


For more information and media inquiries please contact:
Scott Long
Executive Director
Music Nova Scotia
902.423.6271 x101 



Subscribe to MNS News